NSW 491 visa NSW 491 visa nomination criteria

NSW Skilled Work Regional visa (subclass 491) Nomination Guideline 2021/2022

NSW Skilled Work Regional visa (subclass 491)

A provisional visa for skilled workers. The NSW Government can nominate eligible skilled applicants who will commit to working in critical sectors in regional New South Wales.

The Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 491) allows skilled migrants to live, study and work in designated regional areas for a period of 5 years.

Nomination criteria

You must meet all criteria in one of the following three streams to be eligible to be invited to apply for NSW nomination.

Stream 1 — I am living and working in Regional NSW

  • hold a valid skills assessment for an occupation that appears on the Stream 1 Combined Occupation List.
  • have been living in a designated regional area of NSW for at least the previous twelve months; and
  • have been working in your nominated occupation, or a closely related occupation, in a designated regional area of NSW, for at least the previous twelve months

Stream 2 — I have recently completed study in Regional NSW

  • hold a valid skills assessment for an occupation that appears on your nominated region’s occupation list
  • have completed study or education with an education provider, where:
    • the study was completed within the previous 24 months
    • the education provider is in a designated regional area in NSW
    • the study meets the Australian study requirement (as determined by Home Affairs); and
    • the qualification obtained from this study was assessed as closely related to your nominated occupation by the relevant assessing authority; and
  • have lived in a designated regional area of NSW while completing your study

Stream 3 — I am skilled in an occupation required in Regional NSW

Nomination process

NSW nomination for the Skilled Work Regional visa (subclass 491) is now by invitation only. Below are the steps to apply for NSW nomination:

  1. Ensure you are eligible for the Skilled Work Regional visa (subclass 491)
  2. Complete an EOI in SkillSelect
  3. Register your interest during a submission window
  4. Be invited to apply
  5. Apply to an RDA office where your skills are required within 14 days

Further information

Submission windows for the 2021-22 financial year are the months of August, October, January, and March.

Invitations to apply will be issued up to seven days of a submission window closing.

See our How to register your interest for NSW nomination page for information about how to register your interest.

See our Common questions about skilled visas page for more information about how to apply and nomination criteria.

Participating regions

*Designated regional postcodes within the RDA Sydney area available on the Home Affairs website.

Source: https://www.nsw.gov.au/topics/visas-and-migration/skilled-visas/subclass-491

Disclaimer: The above set criteria and details about The eligibility of NSW 491 Visa have been extracted from https://www.nsw.gov.au/topics/visas-and-migration/skilled-visas/subclass-491The document is provided for general information purposes only. Your use of any of this information is at your own risk, and you should not use any of this information without first seeking legal and other professional advice. The provision of this document (and the documents themselves) do not constitute legal advice or opinions of any kind, or any advertising or solicitation. No lawyer-client, advisory, fiduciary or other relationship is created between VIVID EDUCATION and any person accessing or otherwise using any of the information. Vivid Education and its affiliates (and any of their respective directors, officers, agents, contractors, interns, suppliers, and employees) will not be liable for any damages, losses, or causes of action of any nature arising from any use of any of this information.